iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

More Than Human (by Theodore Sturgeon)

More Than Human (by Theodore Sturgeon)
  • #: 116019
  • Price: $9.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2010-11-16
  • Current Version: 1.5
  • 1.5
  • Size: 211.00 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: Blackstone Audio, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.2 or later
  • Copyright©2009-2010 Blackstone Audio. Portions copyright©2009-2010 by Folium Partners.
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

MORE THAN HUMAN by Theodore Sturgeon (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).

“A quantum leap in the development of science fiction as an art.” (Washington Post)

A group of remarkable social outcasts band together for survival and discover that their combined powers render them superhuman. As they struggle to find whether they are meant to help humanity or destroy it, Sturgeon explores questions of power and morality, individuality and belonging.

Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves.

NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s Audie® Award-winning narrators, Stefan Rudnicki and Harlan Ellison. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here.

“A masterpiece of provocative storytelling.” (New York Herald Tribune)

• EXPERIENCE. About 8.5 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players.

• PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap.

• SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing.

• CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average.

• CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come.

• OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed.

• AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again.

• TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed.

• FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas.

RATING: Suitable for fans of Harlan Ellison, Robert Heinlen, other books by Theodore Sturgeon, and the science fiction genre in general.

_

A group of remarkable social outcasts band together for survival and discover that their combined powers render them superhuman. There’s Lone, the simpleton who can hear other people’s thoughts; Janie, who moves things without touching them; and the teleporting twins, who can travel ten feet or ten miles. There’s Baby, who invented an antigravity engine while still in infancy, and Gerry, who has everything it takes to run the world except for a conscience. Separately, they are talented freaks. Together, they may represent the next step in evolution—or the final chapter in the history of the human race.

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-04-13 10:04:20). For actual information go to iTunes

Related to «More Than Human (by Theodore Sturgeon)» applications

More Than Friends by Mary Suzanne (Love & Romance Collection)

More Than Friends by Mary Suzanne (Love & Romance Collection)

Brittney and Cara were best friends, with husbandswho had wandering eyes. But Brittney had a wandering eye as well, for the voluptuous curves of her blonde BFF. When the men cancel out on their foursome evening, Brittney lures Cara to her mountain hideaway, where it seems they are destined to be… more

Price: $3.99 | Category: Books

The Lovers' Book: More than 350 Inspired Ideas, Fun Facts and Time-tested…

The Lovers' Book: More than 350 Inspired Ideas, Fun Facts and Time-tested Techniques to Make You the Best Lover EverKate GribbleSt. Martin's PressFebruary 3 2009Stuffed with lore, history, tips, tricks and theories about love, romance, and relationships, The Lovers Book is the ultimate… more

Price: $16.99 | Category: Books
10 more than, 10 less than

10 more than, 10 less than

More than less than is a game designed for the primary age-range.It aims to develop knowledge and understanding of the two operations, addition and subtraction.The game purely focuses on adding or subtracting by 1 or 10, through which children can begin to familiarise themselves with numbers up to… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Education
Free Translator with Voice - More than a dictionary

Free Translator with Voice - More than a dictionary

The Translator helps in understanding foreign languages. You can use it for translating texts, conversations, live speech, photos or web pages.- 44 languages- 3 translation engines- ASR automatic speech recognition- TTS text to speech- OCR image translate- Integrated image editor (crop, rotate, … more

Price: free | Category: Reference
Direct Response Secrets From A Seller Of More Than $6 Billion In Products

Direct Response Secrets From A Seller Of More Than $6 Billion In Products

Ted Nicholas has sold more than any other guru He's owned 23 businesses, made millions from direct mail, knows the ins and outs of negotiating, and has written and tested copy for more than 30 years. He has already made the mistakes you're about to make, and can tell you a better approach… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Business
Word Jungle (more than 20k words and picture dictionary)

Word Jungle (more than 20k words and picture dictionary)

Do you have the word power? Challenge your word skills with this ultimate game on iPhone/iTouch.Now with 5 dictionaries this game is even more fun. We have included a picture dictionary which gives images as hints so it is perfect for new language learners, children or anyone looking to practice… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Games

CND - Now More Than Ever ☮

A fascinating and timely look at an archetypal campaigning organisation. Published to mark the 60th anniversary of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Uses interviews with key figures and grassroots activists to narrate the highs and lows of five decades of CND. From the mass protests at Aldermaston and… more

Price: $7.99 | Category: Books
CND-Now More Than Ever

CND-Now More Than Ever

A fascinating and timely look at an archetypal campaigning organisation. Published to mark the 60th anniversary of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Uses interviews with key figures and grassroots activists to narrate the highs and lows of five decades of CND. From the mass protests at Aldermaston and… more

Price: $7.99 | Category: Books
Freiburg-Quiz | more than 100 Q&A

Freiburg-Quiz | more than 100 Q&A

Freiburg Quiz English more than 100 Q&A Put your knowledge on Freiburg to the test and answer 100 tricky questions Make an impression with your expert knowledge and learn more interesting facts more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books

View all related to: More Than Human (by Theodore Sturgeon) applications



Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
90 ms.